Print
Category: California News

Washington, DC - Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor Tom Malinowski will travel to California to deliver the second annual Handa Center Public Lecture on Human Rights at Stanford University on February 3 at 5:30 p.m. PST (8:30 p.m. EST). He will speak about the profound importance and enduring challenges of advancing democratic ideals and respect for human rights, and why the United States plays an essential role in protecting and promoting these freedoms.

During the visit, Assistant Secretary Malinowski will also meet with corporate, civil society, and academic leaders for discussions on the current and future challenges related to human rights online and what the United States government can continue doing to promote and protect these rights. Additionally, Assistant Secretary Malinowski will meet with students at the University of California, Berkeley, School of Law.

Lastly, Assistant Secretary Malinowski will participate in Reddit’s “Ask Me Anything” forum on February 4 at 9:00 a.m. PST (12:00 p.m. EST).