Category: Latest News

Washington, DC - At a Pentagon ceremony yesterday, the Department of the Navy recognized outstanding performance in running the "business" side of the Navy and Marine Corps.

Acting Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research, Development, and Acquisition Allison F. Stiller hosted the event for more than 30 people and organizations, honoring them for excellence in acquisition ideals such as fostering competition, improving affordability and innovative techniques.

"You are truly dedicated and talented professionals who are setting the example in our complex acquisition environment," Stiller said. "Talented people like you are enabling our Sailors and Marines to have the technological advantage over our country's greatest adversaries."

The guest speaker for the ceremony was Undersecretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics Ellen Lord.

"We need to continue to drive innovation to regain our technological edge, and focus on affordability and accountability," said Lord. "It's through your efforts we'll ensure the safety and security of the American people."

A highlight of the ceremony included presentation of the Rear Adm. Wayne E. Meyer Memorial Award. Named for the "Father of Aegis," the Meyer award recognizes the individual who exemplifies the highest examples of acquisition excellence and whose achievement brings significant benefit to the department's acquisition community.

This year, Vice Adm. David H. Lewis, director of the Defense Contract Management Agency, received the Meyer award for his lifetime achievement in the acquisition field.

The other awards included:

Program Manager of the Year: Capt. Thomas J. Anderson, program manager, Littoral Combat Ship Shipbuilding Program Office (PMS 501), PEO Littoral Combat Ship

Acquisition Professional of the Year: Gary V. Trimble, husbanding team lead, Fleet Logistics Center Sigonella, NAVSUP

The Dr. Al Somoroff Acquisition Award: Maritime Patrol and Reconnaissance Aircraft Program Office (PMA 290), PEO Air ASW Assault and Special Mission Programs

The Acquisition Field Activity Award: Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division and Weapons Division AIR-2.5 Team, NAVAIR

The Ron Kiss Maritime Technology Transition Award: Advanced Carbon Dioxide Removal Unit Team, NAVSEA

The Competition Excellence Acquisition Team of the Year: Expeditionary Fire Support Ammunition Team, Marine Corps Systems Command

The Innovation Excellence Acquisition Team of the Year: Past Performance Information Retrieval System - Statistical Reporting Next Generation Procurement Risk Assessment Tool Team, NAVSEA

The OSBP Secretary's Cup: Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command

The OSBP Sarkis Tatigian Award: Fleet Logistics Center San Diego, NAVSUP

The OSBP Oreta B. Stinson Small Business Advocate Award (two winners): Lawrence D. Butts, supplier manager, F/A-18 and EA-18G Program Office (PMA 265), PEO Tactical Aircraft Programs; and Arveice M. Washington, director of Acquisition and Contracts, Team Submarine, NAVSEA

The Small Business Team Award: NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support

The Art Diaz Memorial Award: Jing Li-Kole, Naval Surface Warfare Center Port Hueneme Division, NAVSEA

The Department of the Navy Acquisition Excellence Awards were established by the secretary of the Navy in 2008 to recognize military and civil service individuals and teams who have made the most outstanding contributions to enhancing competition and innovation throughout the acquisition lifecycle and in support of Navy and Marine Corps acquisition programs.