Category: Health News

Anaheim, California - The American Heart Association has presented its 2017 Chairman’s Award saluting excellence in volunteer service to Gregg C. Fonarow, M.D., of the University of California at Los Angeles, for “his many invaluable contributions to the Association’s strategic goals and programs while significantly advancing the science and practice of cardiology.”

Fonarow received the award Sunday during the opening of the American Heart Association Scientific Sessions 2017, a premier global exchange of the latest advances in cardiovascular science for researchers and clinicians, which was held at the Anaheim Convention Center. James J. Postl of Houston, Chairman of the Association’s national Board of Directors, presented the award, a citation and $1,000 honorarium. Fonarow is the Eliot Corday Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine and Science in UCLA’s David Geffen School of Medicine.

Presenting the award, Postl said, “Dr. Fonarow has provided exemplary leadership to the American Heart Association in numerous national and local roles.”

Those current roles include chairing the American Heart Association/American College of Cardiology Task Force on Performance Measures, AHA Workplace Health Steering Committee and AHA Get with the Guidelines Quality Improvement Subcommittee.  He serves on numerous other Association committees and task forces, the chairman said.

“The personable Dr. Fonarow is recognized for being able to see ‘the wide vision’ or the ‘big picture’ and verbalize important details and their likely challenges,” Postl said. “He has also been essential to suggesting strategies to overcome these challenges and finding ways to address quality-of-care issues of cardiology today.”