San Diego, California - Led by a two-run seventh inning, a quality start from SDSU right-hander Garrett Hill, and 2.1 innings of perfect relief by Jacob Erickson, the San Diego State baseball team opened the Mountain West Baseball Championships with a 2-1 win over No. 3-seeded San Jose State on Thursday night at Tony Gwynn Stadium.

Charlotte, North Carolina - The University of California San Diego had three standouts compete in Day 1 of the 2018 NCAA Division II Outdoor Track & Field Championships at Irwin Belk Complex on Thursday.

San Diego, California - San Diego State women’s tennis head coach Peter Mattera announced today the signing of Agustina Rimoldi Godoy to a National Letter of Intent for the upcoming season. The incoming freshman is set to join the Aztecs in the fall for the 2018-19 campaign.

San Diego, California - San Diego State had 11 football players selected to the Athlon Sports preseason all-Mountain West team, the magazine announced Wednesday. Juwan Washington led the way for the Aztecs, earning first-team honors as a running back and second-team accolades as a kick returner.

Indianapolis, Indiana - The San Diego State Track & Field team has 10 athletes that have qualified for the NCAA West Preliminary Championships, the NCAA announced Thursday morning. The top 48 student-athletes in each individual event and the top 24 relay teams are selected to compete in the preliminary rounds, held May 24-26 in Sacramento, Calif. (West region) and Tampa, Fla. (East region).

Oakland, California - University of California San Diego women’s water polo head coach Brad Kreutzkamp has been named Western Water Polo Association (WWPA) Coach of the Year, the conference announced on Wednesday.

Colorado Springs, Colorado - San Diego State softball’s Shelby Thompson has been named the Mountain West Defensive Player of the Year, the league announced Wednesday. Thompson was also the lone Aztec representative on either the MW first or second team, earning first-team accolades for the second straight year by the league’s coaches.