San Diego, California - The Sheriff's Department and all law enforcement agencies in San Diego County stand united in supporting the public's right to express their anger and frustration over the death of Mr. George Floyd through peaceful protests.

However, when those demonstrations turn violent and threaten life and property, law enforcement must act to restore safety in our communities.
Due to the violence and destruction we have seen at night in our region this weekend, a curfew order will go into effect for some unincorporated areas of the county beginning tonight at 8:00 p.m. and lasting through 5:30 a.m. on Monday, June 1st. 

Areas affected by the curfew include:

  • Areas around Spring Valley - Unincorporated areas east of the boundaries of the Cities of La Mesa and San Diego to State Highway 54; north and west of State Highway 54 from the boundary of the City of San Diego to the boundary of the City of El Cajon; and south of the boundary of the City of El Cajon to the west of State Highway 54.
  • Areas from Lakeside north to Poway – Unincorporated areas west of State Highway 67 from the boundary of the City of Poway to Mapleview Street; areas south and west of Mapleview Street and Lake Jennings Park Road to Interstate 8; areas north of Interstate 8 from Lake Jennings Park Road to the boundary of the City of El Cajon.

All residents in these areas are urged to stay home, indoors and off the streets.  Violation of the curfew order is a misdemeanor and is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 or up to six months in jail or both.

Cities within San Diego County may also issue their own curfew orders.  Check with your local municipality's website for the latest information or visit:

All local, state and federal law enforcement agencies will work together to enforce these orders and ensure the public's safety.  We thank the public for their cooperation.